Hip dysplasia, HD






In dogs, hip dysplasia is an abnormal formation of the hip socket that, in its more severe form, can eventually cause crippling lameness and painful arthritis of the joints. It is a genetic (polygenic) trait that is affected by environmental factors. It is common in many dog breeds, particularly the larger breeds, and is the most common single cause of arthritis of the hips.

In the normal anatomy of the hip joint, the root (the thigh bone) is connected to the pelvis at the hip joint. The almost spherical end of the femur head (the caput, or caput ossis femoris) fits into the acetabulum (a concave socket located in the pelvis). The bony surfaces of the femur head and of the acetabulum are covered by cartilage. While bones provide the strength necessary to support body weight, cartilage ensures a smooth fit and a wide range of motion. Normal hip function can be affected by congenital conditions such as dysplasia, discussed in this article, trauma, and by acquired diseases such as osteoarthritis and rheumatoid arthritis.

The following table compares the scores recognised by Orthopaedic Foundation for Animals (OFA), Fédération Cynologique Internationale (FCI), the British Veterinary Association (BVA) and Verein für Deutsche Schäferhunde (SV):


OFA (USA) FCI (European) BVA (UK/Australia) 1 Hip SV (Germany)
E A-1 0 Normal
G A-2 1-3 Normal
F B-1 4-6 Normal
B B-2 7-8 Fast ["almost"] Normal
M C 9-18 Noch Zugelassen ["still permitted/allowed"]
Mod D 19-30 Mittlere ["intermediate"]
S E >30 Schwere ["heavy"/"severe"]




Von Willebrand Disease type I, vWD type I






Von Willebrand's disease (von Willebrand disease, vWD) - one of the most common hereditary disease associated with blood coagulation problems. Symptoms are similar to hemophilia, in connection with what is sometimes called von Willebrand disease psevdogemofiliey.

The most characteristic and specific symptom vWD are bleeding from mucous membranes of the mouth, the nose, the internal organs. Manifestation of vWD may have different degrees of severity depending on the dog's individual characteristics. In the mild form of the disease is characterized by moderate bleeding, in more serious cases - extensive and extremely heavy.

Cause of the disease - quantitative deficiency and / or qualitative abnormalities of vWF, a multimeric glycoprotein required for platelet adhesion to collagen at sites of vascular wall damage. This factor is also associated with Factor VIII clotting and protects it from proteolysis. As a rule, vWD is hereditary, but also found and acquired forms.

The most common and thus less severe on the symptomatology is the first type of vWD, occurring in a large group of species: Basset hound, Bernese mountain dog, Doberman, Doberman Pinscher, Kerri Blyu terrier, Miniature Schnauzer, German shepherd, poodle, rottweiler, dachshund, Papillon, Staphylococcus retriever, etc.

Dogs vWD I-th type has an autosomal recessive mode of inheritance, which means that for the manifestation of the disease requires two copies of the mutant gene.

Molecular reason vWD I-th type - mutation c.7437G> A gene vWF vWF. This mutation leads to a reduction in the number of normal factor of 10-20% of the norm, though, as it turns out, for some dogs, in connection with the individual characteristics, this amount is sufficient for virtually asymptomatic vWD.

DNA testing:

To carry out a genetic test requires a blood sample or buccal (mouth swab). When testing is analyzed c.7437G> A mutation resulting in the development of the disease. The test detected faulty (mutated) copy of the gene and a normal copy of the gene. The test result - the definition of the genotype, which allows you to divide the animals into three groups: healthy (homozygous for the normal copy of the gene), carriers (heterozygotes) and patients (homozygous for the mutation).


Genotype Decoding of genotype Status Recommendations for planning matings
N / N homozygote for the normal copy of the gene healthy It can be crossed with any dog, an extremely low probability of a patient birth of offspring
N / M heterozygote carrier If the binding is necessary, allowed crossing with healthy dogs; all resulting progeny should be tested on a carrier of the disease
M / M homozygous for the mutant copy of the gene prone to disease / patient It is recommended to remove from mating. If the binding is necessary, it allowed crossing with healthy dogs, in this case, all the resulting offspring will be heterozygous (carriers)




Dilated cardiomyopathy, DCM






Dilated Cardiomyopathy (DCM) is a severe hereditary disorder present in Doberman Pinschers and other breeds that ultimately leads to heart failure and sudden death.

Heart disease, due to the weakening of the heart muscle. As the chamber of the heart disease may increase, disrupts the valves and develop symptoms of congestive heart failure.

The disease has a wide range of rate of progression: from a few months to several years depending on the conditions of life of the animal and physical state.

In 2012, a group of scientists including lead author Dr. Kathryn Meurs published an article reporting a mutation associated with increased risk for DCM in a cohort of Doberman Pinchers in America. This mutation is located in the PDK4 gene (Meurs et al., 2012), which encodes a protein of the mitochondrion, the cells power source - a vital part of the cell in which malfunctions are often disastrous.





Degenerative Myelopathy, DM






Degenerative myelopathy dogs (the DM) - a heavy progressive neurodegenerative disease that leads to paralysis of the hind limbs, is common in some breeds of dogs. The disease is caused by dysfunction of the spinal cord motor neurons due to degeneration (simplification) of the nerve endings.

First degenerative myelopathy has been described more than 35 years ago as a spontaneously occurring disease of the spinal cord in the adult dog. It was believed that it is characteristic only for the breed German shepherd, so it is also called myelopathy German Shepherds. Later, the disease was found more in a number of breeds - welsh corgi, boxer, Rhodesian Ridgeback, the Chesapeake Bay Retriever.

The first symptoms are already evident in adult dogs, with most - at the age of 8-14 years. The earliest manifestation of degenerative myelopathy begins with an almost imperceptible weakness of one or both hind limbs. Over time, you can hear the so-called "shuffle" the claws of the rear feet on the pavement. The dog there are some difficulties with getting up from a sitting or lying down. loss of balance there. dog's tail becomes "inactive", lost its mobility. If the tail is long, it can be confused in the dog's legs. Just in the initial stages of the animal is observed loss of coordination, and then develop hind limb ataxia. The duration of the disease in most cases does not exceed three years. In the latter stages of myelopathy in dogs is almost absent reflexes of the hind limbs, paralysis. Then the disease spreads already on the forelimbs. Thus, signs of damage to the upper motor neurons, which leads to paralysis of all limbs uplink and total muscle atrophy. Comes complete paralysis of the limbs of the dog.





Narcolepsy Dobermans






Narcolepsy - a disease which manifests itself in the form of abnormal daytime sleepiness, sleep disorder the night with rapid eye movements and a sharp decrease in muscle tone in response to various external stimuli.

The disease in Doberman associated with the appearance of a SINE insertion into the 3rd intron Hcrtr2 gene (Hypocretin (orexin) receptor 2), which leads to drastic changes in splasinge RNA and, as a consequence, in the protein.


Interpretation of results

Autosomal recessive mode of inheritance

MM - sick; NM - healthy carrier; NN - healthy

Дисплазия тазобедренных суставов (Hip dysplasia, HD)






Дисплазия тазобедренных суставов — недоразвитие вертлужной впадины тазобедренного сустава, из этого вытекает несоответствие формы головки бедра и вертлужной впадины, при этом возникает трение и как следствие — стирание и разрушение суставной ткани (остеоартроз), что, в свою очередь, приводит к выраженным нарушениям в опорно-двигательном аппарате. В наше время это широко распространенная болезнь, которая характерна для собак крупных пород, но и мелкие породы тоже нередко подвержены этому заболеванию.

Основой заболевания является генетическая предрасположенность, однако неполноценное питание и недостаток физических нагрузок в период активного роста вносит немалый вклад в развитие этого недуга. Генетическая предрасположенность не всегда приводит к развитию дисплазии.

Дисплазия может проявиться в любом возрасте, но чаще всего структурные изменения сустава начинаю проявляться в 5 — 12 месяцев, однако степень дисплазии устанавливается в возрасте от 1 года, у гигантских пород — в 1.5 года.

В следующей таблице сравниваются оценки, признанные Orthopaedic Foundation for Animals (OFA), Fédération Cynologique Internationale (FCI), the British Veterinary Association (BVA) and Verein für Deutsche Schäferhunde (SV):


OFA (USA) FCI (European) BVA (UK/Australia) 1 Hip SV (Germany)
E A-1 0 Normal
G A-2 1-3 Normal
F B-1 4-6 Normal
B B-2 7-8 Fast ["almost"] Normal
M C 9-18 Noch Zugelassen ["still permitted/allowed"]
Mod D 19-30 Mittlere ["intermediate"]
S E >30 Schwere ["heavy"/"severe"]




Болезнь Виллебранда (von Willebrand disease, vWD)






Болезнь Виллебранда (von Willebrand disease, vWD) – одно из наиболее распространенных наследственных заболеваний, связанных с проблемами свертывания крови. Симптомы заболевания схожи с гемофилией, в связи с чем болезнь Виллебранда иногда называют псевдогемофилией.

Наиболее характерным и специфическим симптомом vWD являются кровотечения из слизистых полости рта, носа, внутренних органов. Проявление vWD может иметь разные степени тяжести в зависимости от индивидуальных особенностей собаки. В легкой форме заболевание характеризуется умеренно выраженными кровотечениями, в более серьезных случаях – обширными и крайне тяжелыми.

Причина заболевания – количественный дефицит и/или качественные нарушения фактора Виллебранда, мультимерного гликопротеина, необходимого для адгезии тромбоцитов на коллагене в местах повреждения сосудистой стенки. Данный фактор также связывается с фактор свертывания VIII и защищает его от протеолиза. Как правило, vWD имеет наследственный характер, но также встречаются и приобретенные формы.

Наиболее распространенным и при этом менее тяжелым по симптоматике является первый тип vWD, встречающийся у большой группы пород: бассет хаунд, бернский зенненхунд, доберман, доберман пинчер, керри блю терьер, миниатюрный шнауцер, немецкая овчарка, пудель, ротвейлер, такса, папильон, золотистый ретривер и т.д.

У собак vWD I-го типа имеет аутосомно-рецессивный характер наследования, что означает, что для проявления заболевания необходимы две копии мутантного гена.

Молекулярная причина vWD I-го типа – мутация c.7437G>A гена фактора Виллебранда vWF. Данная мутация приводит к снижению количества нормального фактора до 10-20% от нормы, хотя, как оказывается, для некоторых собак, в связи с индивидуальными особенностями, этого количества бывает достаточно для практически бессимптомного протекания vWD.

ДНК-тестирование:

Для проведения генетического теста требуется проба крови или буккального эпителия (мазок из ротовой полости). При тестировании анализируется мутация c.7437G>A, приводящая к развитию заболевания. В тесте выявляют дефектную (мутантную) копию гена и нормальную копию гена. Результат теста – это определение генотипа, которое позволяет разделить животных на три группы: здоровые (гомозиготы по нормальной копии гена), носители (гетерозиготы) и больные (гомозиготы по мутации).


Генотип Расшифровка генотипа Статус Рекомендации по планированию вязок
N / N гомозигота по нормальной копии гена здоровый Можно скрещивать с любой собакой, крайне низкая вероятность рождения больного потомства
N / M гетерозигота носитель Если вязка необходима, допускается скрещивание со здоровыми собаками; все полученное потомство необходимо тестировать на носительство заболевания
M / M гомозигота по мутантной копии гена подвержен заболеванию/ больной Рекомендуется отстранить от вязок. Если вязка необходима, допускается скрещивание со здоровыми собаками, в этом случае все полученное потомство будет гетерозиготным (носители)




Дилатационная кардиомиопатия, DCM






Дилатационная кардиомиопатия (DCM) является тяжелым наследственным заболеванием, которому подвержены собаки породы Доберман и некоторых других пород. Оно приводит к сердечной недостаточности и внезапной смерти.

Заболевание сердца, связанное с ослаблением работы сердечной мышцы. По мере развития заболевания камеры сердца могут увеличиваться, нарушаться работа клапанов и развиваться признаки застойной сердечной недостаточности.

Заболевание имеет широкий диапазон скорости прогрессирования: от нескольких месяцев до нескольких лет в зависимости от условий жизни животного и физического состояния.

В 2012 году группа ученых, включающая Доктора Кэтрин Мерс, ведущего автора научной статьи, описывающей мутацию, связанную с повышенным риском DCM в популяции доберманов Америки. Эта мутация находится в гене PDK4 (Мерс и др., 2012), которая кодирует белок митохондрии, источника питания клеток – жизненно важная часть клетки, сбор в которой имеют катастрофические последствия.





Дегенеративная миелопатия, Degenerative Myelopathy, DM






Дегенеративная миелопатия собак (DM) – тяжёлое прогрессирующее нейродегенеративное заболевание, приводящее к параличу задних конечностей, является распространенным у некоторых пород собак. Заболевание вызывается нарушением функционирования мотонейронов спинного мозга вследствие дегенерации (упрощения) их нервных окончаний.

Впервые дегенеративная миелопатия была описана более 35 лет назад как спонтанно возникающее заболевание спинного мозга у взрослых особей собак. Считалось, что оно характерно только для породы немецкая овчарка, поэтому его также называли миелопатия немецких овчарок. Позже заболевание было выявлено ещё у ряда пород – вельш корги пемброк, боксёр, родезийский риджбек, чесапик-бей ретривер.

Первые признаки заболевания проявляются уже у взрослых собак, у большинства – в возрасте 8-14 лет. Самое раннее проявление дегенеративной миелопатии начинается с почти незаметной слабости одной или обеих задних конечностей. Со временем можно слышать так называемое «шарканье» когтей задних ног по асфальту. У собаки появляются некоторые трудности со вставанием из положения сидя или лежа. Появляется потеря равновесия. Хвост собаки становится «неактивным», теряется его подвижность. Если хвост длинный, то может путаться в ногах собаки. Так же на начальных стадиях у животного наблюдается потеря координации, после чего развивается атаксия задних конечностей. Длительность заболевания в большинстве случаев не превышает трёх лет. На последних стадиях миелопатии у собаки практически отсутствуют рефлексы задних конечностей, наступает паралич. Затем заболевание распространяется уже и на передние конечности. При этом проявляются признаки повреждения верхних мотонейронов, что ведёт к восходящему параличу всех конечностей и общей мышечной атрофии. Наступает полный паралич конечностей собаки.





Нарколепсия доберманов






Нарколепсия – заболевание проявляющееся в виде ненормальной сонливости днем, расстройстве ночного сна с быстрыми глазными движениями и резком снижении тонуса мышц в ответ на различные внешние раздражители.


Интерпретация результатов

Аутосомно-рецессивный характер наследования

MM - болен; NM - здоров, носитель; NN - здоров